Drystan the Dragon and Friends Series, Book 1 – Drystan and Durward Save the Day

By Janice Spina

Illustrated by John Spina


Book Blurb

This is a magical series about Drystan the dragon and his friends. These dragons are colorful, engaging and fun to read about. They teach children the importance of friendship, caring for one another, being kind to others, and it’s okay to be different. All dragons are of different colors and their names begin with the letter ‘D’ – a fun way for young children to learn the letter ‘D’ and colors.
In Book 1, Drystan makes a new friend, Durward, who invites him to visit the Land of the Rainbows. While they are there they have an adventure. Find out what the dragons do to save the day.

My Review

Drystan and his new friend, Durward, are off to have an adventure, but along the way, they stop to help some little birds.  Who doesn’t love dragons!  And they come in different colors!  Drystan is red and Durward is blue.  Find out what happens when the dragons are happy.  Why are they flying to the Land of Rainbows?  This story is about the importance of having friends and helping others.  It is a wonderful tale written in rhyme that will appeal to young children, whether someone reads it to them or able to read themselves.  Janice Spina has clearly remained true to her belief that books for children should be wholesome and teach life lessons.  Her husband, John Spina, beautifully and colorfully illustrated the book. I highly recommend Drystan the Dragon and Friends Series, Book 1 Drystan and Durward Save the Day.

I received a free copy of this book from the author and reviewed it without compensation.

About the Author

Janice Spina is an award-winning author with 12 children’s books, Louey the Lazy Elephant, Ricky the Rambunctious Raccoon, Jerry the Crabby Crayfish (won Pinnacle Book Achievement Award), Lamby the Lonely Lamb (won the Silver Medal from MOM’S Choice Awards), and Jesse the Precocious Polar Bear, Broose the Moose on the Loose (won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award), and Sebastian Meets Marvin the Monkey, and Colby the Courageous Cat (Pinnacle Book Achievement Award), Jeffrey the Jittery Giraffe (Pinnacle Book Achievement Award), Clarence Henry the Hermit Crab, Lucy the Talented Toy Terrier, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series (Book 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5) is a middle-grade/preteen series and Abby & Holly Series Book1 1, 2, 3 (Books 1 & 2 won Pinnacle Book Achievement Awards). Book 1, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone (won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and an Honorable Mention from Readers’ Favorite Awards). Book 2, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, also won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Book 5 won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and a Silver Medal from Authorsdb Cover Contest. Janice’s other books have also been Finalists in Red City Review Book Awards and Authorsdb First Lines Contest.

Her logo is JEMSBOOKS for all ages on which is her motto:
“Reading Gives You Wings To Fly! Soar with Jemsbooks!”

Janice’s and John’s joint goal is: To encourage children of all ages to read and to instill this love of reading in them to carry them throughout their lives and thus giving them ‘wings to fly!’

Author Bio is from Amazon and Goodreads
Book Cover, Author Photo, and Book Blurb are from Amazon












Barnes & Noble

9 thoughts on “Drystan the Dragon and Friends Series, Book 1 – Drystan and Durward Save the Day

Comments are closed.